2014 Womens Rugby World Cup

2014 Womens Rugby World Cup

Before the start of the Womens Rugby World Cup on this Friday, Coolbaby blog have a quick look at the tournament and we plan to keep you updated on the progress of the ladies! We would love if you would leave us some comments or suggestions to help us with our future posts.

Womens Rugby World Cup 2014

The 2014 Women’s Rugby World Cup will take place in France from the 1st until the 17th of August with Ireland entering a strong squad. Ireland, as 2013 Six Nations Grand Slam winners are full of belief ahead of their Pool B fixtures against New Zealand, USA and Kazakhstan. They insist they can stand up to the mighty New Zealand but winning two out of three would more than likely see them through to the next stage.

The Irish women’s team comes into this tournament in very good form having won three of their five Six Nations games this year. The campaign will represent the final matches in charge for coach Philip Doyle, who announced that he will step down from his position after the tournament.

Brief History of the Tournament  

The pinnacle of the Women’s Game, the 2014 edition will be the seventh Women’s Rugby World Cup with the first having been held in the Welsh capital of Cardiff back in April 1991.

Twelve teams contested that first tournament in Cardiff from 6-14 April in hosts Wales, Canada, England, France, Italy, Japan, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Spain, Sweden, USA and the USSR.

England and USA booked their places in the inaugural with the women from North America getting their hands on the silverware with a 19-6 victory.

Three years later the teams converged on Edinburgh with Kazakhstan and Ireland making their first appearances on the Women’s Rugby World Cup stage.

The 1998 tournament, hosted in Amsterdam, was the first year to officially come under the auspices of the International Rugby Board and the competition has since gone on to be dominated by New Zealand and England.

Roll of Honour

1991 – Venue – Cardiff, Wales                      Final: USA 19-6 England

1994 – Venue – Edinburgh, Scotland            Final: England 38-23 USA

1998 – Venue – Amsterdam, Netherlands     Final: New Zealand 44-12 USA

2002 – Venue – Barcelona, Spain                  Final: New Zealand 19-9 England

2006 – Venue – Edmonton, Canada               Final: New Zealand 25-17 England

2010 – Venue – London, England                  Final: New Zealand 13-10 England


Irelands Pool Fixtures

Date                Time  

01 Aug 14       1700    USA                v          Ireland

05 Aug 14       1800    New Zealand   v          Ireland

09 Aug 14       1300    Ireland             v          Kazakhstan


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply